MINUTES OF THE

BOARD SPECIAL MEETING

June 30, 2017

Via teleconference

Ken Stafford, Vice-Chairman of the Board, chaired the special meeting of the Board held Friday, June 30, 2017 at 11:00 A.M via teleconference hosted at the Board's meeting facility at 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC. No audio recording was made.

The sole agenda item and purpose of the special meeting was to consider the issuance of a Standard Certificate to Inspector(s) to one individual whose probationary certificates had expired which created a hardship within the jurisdiction. At the same time, staff presented a total of 20 certificates belonging to inspectors who have expired probationary certificates or those due to expire before July 25, 2017 and no lower levels, which would leave the inspector with no valid Certification.

Vice-Chairman opened the meeting and asked each member to state his or her name. Eleven (11) Board members attended constituting a quorum to conduct business. In attendance were: Vice-Chairman Ken Stafford, Brenda Lyerly, Ray Rice, Richard Ducker, Jerry Myers, Richard Morris, James Steele, Lance Olive, Allen Kelly, Jeff Griffin and Mack Summey. The following members were absent: Taher Abu-Lebdeh, Dan Brummitt, Reo Griffith, Andy Matthews, Chris Raynor, Mark Smith, Bill Thunberg, and Stephen Terry.

Director Mike Hejduk, NCDOI board staff, Kathy Williams and Terri Tart, and Board attorney Bobby Croom attended.

Vice-Chairman Stafford made introductory remarks, stated the purpose of the meeting and asked if any board member had any conflict of interest concerns regarding the agenda item. None were voiced.

Richard Ducker made a motion to accept the twenty (20) candidates listed on the agenda and issue Standard Certificates for the Trades and Levels shown. Beverly Lyerly seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken and the motion passed unanimously. The individuals and their certificates are listed below.

1.	Todd D. Barbee	Electrical I	11.	John Brantley Hyatt	Plumbing II
2.	Richard A. Cox	Building II	12.	Charles N. McKinney	Building II
3.	Richard A. Cox	Mechanical II	13.	Charles N. McKinney	Mechanical II
4.	Matthew P. Crawford	Plumbing II	14.	Charles N. McKinney	Plumbing II
5.	Matthew P. Crawford	Mechanical II	15.	Timothy R. Parnell	Electrical I
6.	John J. Deer	Fire I	16.	Wallace K. Tessinear	Fire II
7.	Willie L. Gay	Mechanical I	17.	Michael D. VanHoy	Plumbing I
8.	Jennifer M. Goble	Plumbing II	18.	Larry M. Williams	Electrical II
9.	Jennifer M. Goble	Mechanical II	19.	Brian E. Wood	Fire I
10.	Jennifer M. Goble	Building II	20.	Michael L. Yarborough	Electrical I

The meeting adjourned at 10:10 A.M.