MINUTES OF THE

BOARD SPECIAL MEETING

September 29, 2017

Via teleconference

Bill Thunberg, Chairman of the Board, chaired the special meeting of the Board held Friday, September 29, 2017 at 10:00 A.M via teleconference hosted at the Board's meeting facility at 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC. No audio recording was made.

The sole agenda item and purpose of the special meeting was to consider the issuance of a Standard Certificate to Inspector(s) to two individuals whose probationary certificates had expired which created a hardship within the jurisdictions. At the same time, staff presented a total of 19 certificates belonging to inspectors who have expired probationary certificates or those due to expire before October 24, 2017 and no lower levels, which would leave the inspector with no valid Certification.

Chairman Thunberg opened the meeting and asked each member to state his or her name. Fifteen (15) Board members attended constituting a quorum to conduct business. In attendance were: Vice-Chairman Ken Stafford, Brenda Lyerly, Ray Rice, Richard Ducker, James Steele, Lance Olive, Andy Matthews, Cliff Isaac, Allen Kelly, Jeff Griffin, Mark Smith, Stephen Terry, Dan Brummitt and Mack Summey. The following members were absent: Taher Abu-Lebdeh, Reo Griffith, and Chris Raynor.

Staff Director Kathy Williams and NCDOI board staff Terri Tart attended.

Chairman Thunberg made introductory remarks, stated the purpose of the meeting and asked if any board member had any conflict of interest concerns regarding the agenda item. None were voiced.

Brenda Lyerly made a motion to accept the nineteen (19) candidates listed on the agenda and issue Standard Certificates for the Trades and Levels shown. Ray Rice seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken and the motion passed unanimously. The individuals and their certificates are listed below.

Allen, Chadwick Oren Alston, Travis Jerone Andreyev, Alexander Atkinson, Theron Edwin Bunster, Madelin Miguez DiBenedetto, Thomas Matthew Edmisten, John Bernard Hyatt, John Brantley	Fire Prevention III Building I Fire Prevention I Fire Prevention III Building III Mechanical I Fire Prevention I Mechanical II	Mauney, Wilbur Bryan Nichols, Jody Monroe Quinn, Daniel Edward Skora, Mark Stokley, James Buckner Tirico, Brian John Walter, William Kim Wesdyk, Jeffrey Alan	Mechanical I Plumbing I Fire Prevention I Electrical I Building II Fire Prevention II Building I Electrical I
		·	U
Landreth, Zachary Shane Lassiter, Derwood Gregg	Fire Prevention I Electrical IJohn	Wilson, Caleb Nicholas	Plumbing I

Allen Kelly made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Dan Brummitt seconded the motion and the motion carried. The meeting ended at 10:06.